Recent changes in Pennsylvania law have added stricter penalties for leaving the scene of an accident. Since Kevin’s Law was signed last June, the penalties have changed significantly.
The law requires the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to stop and remain at the scene. Any person who violates this law commits a first-degree misdemeanor. If the victim suffers serious bodily injury and the driver leaves the scene, that person has committed a third-degree felony punishable by a minimum of 90 days in jail and a mandatory fine of $1,000. If the victim dies, the driver can face a minimum of three years in jail and a mandatory fine of $2,500.
Law enforcement will conduct a full investigation, interview witnesses, review any available video surveillance and more. If they determine that you were involved in an accident and fled the scene, they will likely issue a warrant for your arrest.
To view the law and penalties, go to the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles website at www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms/vehicle_code/chapter37.pdf
Being charged with a crime can be scary and confusing. Trust Powell Law to guide you through every step of the criminal process. Contact us online or call (570) 961-0777.