FAQ In Personal Injury Cases: How Much Time Do I Have to Bring A Claim In Pennsylvania?

Many people who are prospective personal injury plaintiffs (and some who are not) ask how much time they have to file a personal injury case in Pennsylvania. The exercise of a legal right is often limited and must be asserted within the confines of some time period.

In Pennsylvania and every state, this limitation is imposed by a statutory law known as a statute of limitations. The deadlines mandated by a statute of limitations for asserting a legal right and filing a lawsuit vary depending on the type of case. It is of the utmost importance that prospective personal injury plaintiffs understand and comply with this statute.

In the Pennsylvania Courts of Common Pleas, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is two years from the date of the injury to commence the filing of a . (42 Pa. Con. Stat. Ann. § 5524). This statute applies to lawsuits for the recovery of property damages as well. For injury claims against a city, county, or state government agency, a notice of intent to sue must be filed within 6 months.

Thus, in filing a personal injury case in Pennsylvania, it is essential to acknowledge that time is of the essence. Any failure to file a lawsuit before the applicable two-year window closes will most likely result in Pennsylvania courts refusing to hear the case at any future point thereafter, resulting in a complete loss of any right to compensation. An experienced personal injury lawyer can ensure that your case is filed in a timely fashion well within this statute.

If you or a loved one has suffered any type of injury resulting from any type of accident, contact Powell Law at (570) 961-0777. Our decades of experience make us the clear and obvious choice for all types of legal representation in the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre and surrounding areas. The consultation is FREE and you don’t pay anything unless we win. Our attorneys, past and present, have represented motor vehicle accident victims for 113 years. Call today!

FAQ In Personal Injury Cases: How Much Time Do I Have to Bring A Claim In Pennsylvania?



Request a Free Consultation

Contact Us