Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Pennsylvania

Car insurance laws are established and enforced at the state level by their respective legislatures. Currently, in the United States, 49 of the 50 states require all motorists to carry an active automobile insurance policy. New Hampshire is the exception and only state in which drivers are not legally required to have insurance, provided they can show proof of financial responsibility. Drivers without car insurance in Pennsylvania face stiff penalties if they are found operating a vehicle without insurance coverage or during a lapse in insurance coverage.

Although Pennsylvania motorists may carry optional comprehensive and collision coverage to cover their vehicle, the coverages required by Pennsylvania law, and most states’ laws, are bodily injury and property damage insurance. These minimum coverages provide some measure of financial relief for victims who suffer damages in an accident at the expense of another driver. Because a motor vehicle is potentially dangerous instrumentality and has the potential to cause physical or material harm, drivers must carry sufficient insurance to cover the costs of these damages.

All cars, vans, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, trucks, and buses subject to registration must have liability insurance. Motorists are considered to be legally compliant with Pennsylvania law if they have liability insurance in the following amounts:

• $15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident

• $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident

• $5,000 for damage to property of another person

Any Pennsylvania motorist without liability insurance faces the following penalties and restoration expenses:

  • a minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured;
  • a three-month suspension of a vehicle’s registration;
  • a three-month suspension of a driver’s license;
  • a fee to restore a vehicle’s registration;
  • a fee to restore a driver’s license;
  • a fee to restore a commercial driver’s license; and
  • vehicle impoundment.

A driver’s license, car’s license plate, and registration sticker must be surrendered to PennDOT during the serving of the suspension. If a vehicle is not impounded, no one else will be able to operate that vehicle until the suspension time has been served and any restoration fees have been paid.

The attorneys at Powell Law carry on the work of a law firm that spans generations and has represented thousands of Pennsylvanians over a period of 115 years. Contact Powell Law at (570) 961-0777 or visit us online. Call now for a FREE case evaluation. You don’t pay unless we win!

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance In Pennsylvania

Request a Free Consultation

Contact Us